Flowstone Slide Tenth Edition Furnace Whelp

Furnace of Rath Furnace of Rath English

Enchantment, 1RRR (4)

If a source would deal damage to a creature or player, it deals double that damage to that creature or player instead.

The furnace awaits the next master who would stoke the fires of apocalypse.

Illus. John Matson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: If a spell or ability damages multiple things, divide up the damage before applying this effect. This means you can't normally end up with an odd amount of damage on something.
  • 10/4/2004: The trample rules cause damage to be divided before it is doubled.
  • 10/4/2004: If you have two of these on the battlefield, the damage is multiplied by 4.
  • 10/4/2004: The multiplied damage counts in all ways as if it came from the original source. Furnace of Rath is not the source.
  • 8/1/2005: If multiple effects modify how damage will be dealt, the player who would be dealt damage or the controller of the creature that would be dealt damage chooses the order to apply the effects. For example, Mending Hands says, "Prevent the next 4 damage that would be dealt to target creature or player this turn." Suppose a spell would deal 5 damage to a player who has cast Mending Hands targeting himself or herself. That player can either (a) prevent 4 damage first and then let Furnace of Rath double the remaining 1 damage, taking 2 damage, or (b) double the damage to 10 and then prevent 4 damage, taking 6 damage.
Printings:
#204 (John Matson)

Editions:
English Duels of the Planeswalkers (Rare)
English Planechase (Rare)
English Tenth Edition (Rare)
English Ninth Edition (Rare)
English Eighth Edition (Rare)
English Tempest (Rare)

Languages:
German Der Schmelzofen von Rath
French Fourneau de Rajh
Italian Fornace di Rath
Spanish Horno de Rath
Portuguese Fornalha de Rath
Japanese ラースの灼熱洞
Simplified Chinese 瑞斯大熔炉
Russian Горнило Рата
Traditional Chinese 瑞斯大熔爐
Korean


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Furnace of Rath
View Decks with Furnace of Rath
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.