Bottle Gnomes Tenth Edition Chromatic Star

Chimeric Staff Chimeric Staff English

Artifact, 4 (4)

{X}: Chimeric Staff becomes an X/X Construct artifact creature until end of turn.

The staff unraveled in a chaotic chorus of clanging, becoming an improbable beast of hissing blades.

Illus. Michael Sutfin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature can attack, and its {T} abilities can be activated, only if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of his or her most recent turn. It doesn’t matter how long the permanent has been a creature.
  • 10/1/2009: If Chimeric Staff is already an artifact creature when you activate its ability, Chimeric Staff stays an artifact creature but the ability resets its creature types. You always apply the effect from this card before counters or other effects that modify power and toughness. For example, if you pay {3} to make it a 3/3, then someone gives it -1/-1, it will be a 2/2. If you then activate the ability with {4}, you will apply the “4/4” effect before the -1/-1 effect, so the end result will be a 3/3. Damage that was dealt to the creature stays on it.
Printings:
#313 (Michael Sutfin)

Editions:
English Tenth Edition (Rare)
English Urza's Saga (Rare)

Languages:
German Chimärenstab
French Bâton chimérique
Italian Bastone Chimerico
Spanish Bastón quimérico
Portuguese Bastão Quimérico
Japanese キマイラ杖
Simplified Chinese 盖美拉之杖
Russian Посох-Химера
Traditional Chinese 蓋美拉之杖


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Chimeric Staff
View Decks with Chimeric Staff
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.