Weldfast Engineer Aether Revolt Aegis Automaton

Winding Constrictor Winding Constrictor English

Creature — Snake 2/3, BG (2)

If one or more counters would be placed on an artifact or creature you control, that many of those counters plus one are placed on that permanent instead.

If you would get one or more counters, you get that many of those counters plus one instead.

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: Winding Constrictor has received minor errata to clarify its functionality. The corrected Oracle wording appears above.
  • 2/9/2017: If an artifact or creature you control would enter the battlefield with a number of any kind of counters on it, it enters with that many plus one instead.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect includes multiple instructions to put one or more counters on an artifact or creature, such as Lifecrafter’s Gift does, Winding Constrictor’s effect applies to each of those instructions.
  • 2/9/2017: If you control two Winding Constrictors, the number of counters placed on the artifact or creature is the original number plus two. Three Winding Constrictors adds three to the original number, and so on.
  • 2/9/2017: If you would get counters of multiple kinds at the same time, Winding Constrictor increases the number of each of those kinds of counters by one. The same is true if counters of multiple kinds would be placed on an artifact or creature you control.
  • 2/9/2017: Winding Constrictor’s effect can’t apply to itself as it’s entering the battlefield or to any other permanent entering the battlefield at the same time as it.
  • 2/9/2017: If a nonartifact, noncreature permanent (such as a planeswalker) would enter the battlefield with counters on it and become an artifact or a creature on the battlefield due to another card’s effect (such as that of Mycosynth Lattice), Winding Constrictor’s effect doesn’t apply to that permanent.
Printings:
#140 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Schlängelnde Boa
French Boa sinueux
Italian Costrittore Sinuoso
Spanish Boa sinuosa
Portuguese Constritora Sinuosa
Japanese 巻きつき蛇
Simplified Chinese 蜿蜒缠蟒
Russian Извилистый Удав
Traditional Chinese 蜿蜒纏蟒
Korean 대형 보아뱀


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Winding Constrictor
View Decks with Winding Constrictor
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.