Augmenting Automaton Aether Revolt Cogwork Assembler

Barricade Breaker Barricade Breaker English

Artifact Creature — Juggernaut 7/5, 7 (7)

Improvise (Your artifacts can help cast this spell. Each artifact you tap after you're done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.)

Barricade Breaker attacks each combat if able.

"The Consulate sought to crush us. Let's give them a taste of their own medicine."
—Venkat Dasai, renegade commander

Illus. Karl Kopinski

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: If, during your declare attackers step, Barricade Breaker is tapped or is affected by a spell or ability that says it can’t attack, then it doesn’t attack. If there’s a cost associated with having it attack, you aren’t forced to pay that cost, so it doesn’t have to attack in that case either.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.
  • 2/9/2017: When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Improvise applies after the total cost is calculated.
  • 2/9/2017: Because improvise isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise can’t pay for {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, {G}, or {C} mana symbols in a spell’s total cost.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise can’t be used to pay for anything other than the cost of casting the spell. For example, it can’t be used during the resolution of an ability that says “Counter target spell unless its controller pays {3}.”
  • 2/9/2017: If an artifact you control has a mana ability with {tap} in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with improvise will result in the artifact being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for improvise. Similarly, if you sacrifice an artifact to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with improvise, that artifact won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for improvise.
  • 2/9/2017: Tapping an artifact won’t cause its abilities to stop applying unless those abilities say so.
  • 2/9/2017: Equipment attached to a creature doesn’t become tapped when that creature becomes tapped, and tapping that Equipment doesn’t cause the creature to become tapped.
Printings:
#144 (Karl Kopinski)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Barrikadenbrecher
French Briseur de barricades
Italian Spezzabarricate
Spanish Destructor de barricadas
Portuguese Rompedor de Barricadas
Japanese バリケード破り
Simplified Chinese 屏障粉碎械
Russian Крушитель Баррикад
Traditional Chinese 屏障粉碎械
Korean 방어벽 파쇄자


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Barricade Breaker
View Decks with Barricade Breaker
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.