Implement of Malice Aether Revolt Irontread Crusher

Inspiring Statuary Inspiring Statuary English

Artifact, 3 (3)

Nonartifact spells you cast have improvise. (Your artifacts can help cast those spells. Each artifact you tap after you're done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.)

Ghirapur's most celebrated inventors have been immortalized in clockwork.

Illus. Kirsten Zirngibl

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: Multiple instances of improvise are redundant.
  • 2/9/2017: If you cast a nonartifact spell that requires you to sacrifice a permanent as an additional cost, you may tap that permanent (if it’s an artifact) for the spell’s improvise ability before you sacrifice it to pay that cost.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.
  • 2/9/2017: When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Improvise applies after the total cost is calculated.
  • 2/9/2017: Because improvise isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise can’t pay for {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, {G}, or {C} mana symbols in a spell’s total cost.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise can’t be used to pay for anything other than the cost of casting the spell. For example, it can’t be used during the resolution of an ability that says “Counter target spell unless its controller pays {3}.”
  • 2/9/2017: If an artifact you control has a mana ability with {T} in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with improvise will result in the artifact being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for improvise. Similarly, if you sacrifice an artifact to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with improvise, that artifact won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for improvise.
  • 2/9/2017: Tapping an artifact won’t cause its abilities to stop applying unless those abilities say so.
  • 2/9/2017: Equipment attached to a creature doesn’t become tapped when that creature becomes tapped, and tapping that Equipment doesn’t cause the creature to become tapped.
  • 2/9/2017: When using improvise to cast a spell with {X} in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap artifacts you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Whir of Invention (a spell with improvise and mana cost {X}{U}{U}{U}) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is {3}{U}{U}{U}. If you tap two artifacts, you’ll have to pay {1}{U}{U}{U}.
Printings:
#160 (Kirsten Zirngibl)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Rare)

Languages:
German Inspirierende Statuen
French Statuaire inspiratrice
Italian Statuaria Ispiratrice
Spanish Estatuas inspiradoras
Portuguese Estatuária Inspiradora
Japanese 鼓舞する彫像
Simplified Chinese 启迪塑像
Russian Вдохновляющее Изваяние
Traditional Chinese 啟迪塑像
Korean 영감을 주는 조각상


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Inspiring Statuary
View Decks with Inspiring Statuary
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.