Deft Dismissal Aether Revolt Felidar Guardian

Exquisite Archangel Exquisite Archangel English

Creature — Angel 5/5, 5WW (7)

Flying

If you would lose the game, instead exile Exquisite Archangel and your life total becomes equal to your starting life total.

A living invention born of a grand design.

Illus. Brad Rigney

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: If Exquisite Archangel is dealt lethal damage at the same time that you’re dealt damage that brings your life total to 0 or less, its effect applies and your life total becomes equal to your starting life total. You choose whether Exquisite Archangel is moved to exile or to your graveyard.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says that you can’t lose the game, Exquisite Archangel’s effect doesn’t apply.
  • 2/9/2017: If you control two Exquisite Archangels, you choose which one’s effect applies. The other’s effect won’t be applicable after that until the next time you would lose the game.
  • 2/9/2017: Exquisite Archangel’s effect applies any time you would lose the game, even if you’re not losing due to your life total being 0 or less. If you would have lost the game because you tried to draw from an empty library, you won’t lose again until you try to draw again and still can’t do so.
  • 2/9/2017: Exquisite Archangel’s effect does nothing if you concede the game. A player who concedes leaves the game.
  • 2/9/2017: For your life total to become your starting life total (normally 20), you gain or lose the appropriate amount of life. For example, if your life total is -4 when Exquisite Archangel’s ability applies, it will cause you to gain 24 life; alternatively, if your life total is 40 when it applies, it will cause you to lose 20 life. Other cards that interact with life gain or life loss will interact with this effect accordingly.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect states that an opponent wins the game, Exquisite Archangel’s ability doesn’t apply.
  • 2/9/2017: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Exquisite Archangel’s ability causes the team’s life total to become the team’s starting life total (normally 30), but only you actually gain or lose life.
Printings:
#18 (Brad Rigney)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Auserlesener Erzengel
French Archange admirable
Italian Arcangelo Mirabile
Spanish Arcángel exquisito
Portuguese Arcanjo Refinado
Japanese 極上の大天使
Simplified Chinese 精雅大天使
Russian Изысканный Архангел
Traditional Chinese 精雅大天使
Korean 정교한 대천사


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Exquisite Archangel
View Decks with Exquisite Archangel
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.