Thopter Arrest Aether Revolt Aethertide Whale

Aether Swooper Aether Swooper English

Creature — Vedalken Artificer 1/2, 1U (2)

Flying

When Aether Swooper enters the battlefield, you get {e}{e} (two energy counters).

Whenever Aether Swooper attacks, you may pay {e}{e}. If you do, create a 1/1 colorless Servo artifact creature token.

Illus. James Ryman

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 2/9/2017: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
  • 2/9/2017: Some triggered abilities state that you “may pay” a certain amount of {e}. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {e} as the ability resolves, and no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice.
Printings:
#26 (James Ryman)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Common)

Languages:
German Äther-Gleiterin
French Voltigeuse de l'Éther
Italian Planatrice dell'Etere
Spanish Surcadora de éter
Portuguese Planadora Etérea
Japanese 霊気急襲者
Simplified Chinese 乙太攫击兵
Russian Эфирная Пикировщица
Traditional Chinese 乙太攫擊兵
Korean 에테르 강습병


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Aether Swooper
View Decks with Aether Swooper
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.