Baral, Chief of Compliance Aether Revolt Bastion Inventor

Baral's Expertise Baral's Expertise English

Sorcery, 3UU (5)

Return up to three target artifacts and/or creatures to their owners' hands.

You may cast a card with converted mana cost 4 or less from your hand without paying its mana cost.

"Get out of my way."

Illus. Todd Lockwood

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: The card that you cast may be an artifact or creature that was returned to your hand by this spell.
  • 2/9/2017: If the Expertise spell you cast has any targets, and those targets become illegal before the spell resolves, the spell is countered and none of its effects happen. You won’t get to cast a free spell.
  • 2/9/2017: A card’s converted mana cost is determined solely by the mana symbols printed in its upper right corner. The converted mana cost is the total amount of mana in that cost, regardless of color. For example, a card with mana cost {1}{U}{U} has converted mana cost 3. Ignore any alternative costs, additional costs, cost increases, or cost reductions that could apply to it. A card with no mana cost has a converted mana cost of 0.
  • 2/9/2017: If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
  • 2/9/2017: Effects that allow you to “cast” a card don’t allow you to play a land card.
  • 2/9/2017: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs, such as emerge costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Cathartic Reunion, you must pay those to cast the card.
  • 2/9/2017: While you’re casting your free spell, the Expertise spell is still on the stack. It will be put into its owner’s graveyard after the free spell is cast. The free spell can’t target the Expertise card in your graveyard. It can target the Expertise spell on the stack, but the Expertise spell will become an illegal target before the free spell resolves.
  • 2/9/2017: Any triggered abilities that trigger while performing the Expertise spell’s first effect won’t be put onto the stack until after you’re done casting your free spell. They’re put onto the stack at the same time as any abilities that triggered while casting that spell regardless of the order in which those abilities triggered.
  • 4/18/2017: The converted mana cost of a split card is determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves. If an expertise spell allows you to cast a split card, you may cast either half or, if that split card has fuse, both halves.
Printings:
#29 (Todd Lockwood)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Rare)

Languages:
German Barals Expertise
French Expertise de Baral
Italian Competenza di Baral
Spanish Pericia de Baral
Portuguese Especialidade de Baral
Japanese バラルの巧技
Simplified Chinese 巴罗的专才
Russian Мастерство Бараля
Traditional Chinese 巴羅的專才
Korean 바랄의 전문 지식


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Baral's Expertise
View Decks with Baral's Expertise
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.