Trophy Mage Aether Revolt Wind-Kin Raiders

Whir of Invention Whir of Invention English

Instant, XUUU (3)

Improvise (Your artifacts can help cast this spell. Each artifact you tap after you're done activating mana abilities pays for {1}.)

Search your library for an artifact card with converted mana cost X or less, put it onto the battlefield, then shuffle your library.

Illus. Christine Choi

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: Improvise doesn’t change a spell’s mana cost or converted mana cost.
  • 2/9/2017: When calculating a spell’s total cost, include any alternative costs, additional costs, or anything else that increases or reduces the cost to cast the spell. Improvise applies after the total cost is calculated.
  • 2/9/2017: Because improvise isn’t an alternative cost, it can be used in conjunction with alternative costs.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise can’t pay for {W}, {U}, {B}, {R}, {G}, or {C} mana symbols in a spell’s total cost.
  • 2/9/2017: Improvise can’t be used to pay for anything other than the cost of casting the spell. For example, it can’t be used during the resolution of an ability that says “Counter target spell unless its controller pays {3}.”
  • 2/9/2017: If an artifact you control has a mana ability with {tap} in the cost, activating that ability while casting a spell with improvise will result in the artifact being tapped when you pay the spell’s costs. You won’t be able to tap it again for improvise. Similarly, if you sacrifice an artifact to activate a mana ability while casting a spell with improvise, that artifact won’t be on the battlefield when you pay the spell’s costs, so you won’t be able to tap it for improvise.
  • 2/9/2017: Tapping an artifact won’t cause its abilities to stop applying unless those abilities say so.
  • 2/9/2017: Equipment attached to a creature doesn’t become tapped when that creature becomes tapped, and tapping that Equipment doesn’t cause the creature to become tapped.
  • 2/9/2017: When using improvise to cast a spell with {X} in its mana cost, first choose the value for X. That choice, plus any cost increases or decreases, will determine the spell’s total cost. Then you can tap artifacts you control to help pay that cost. For example, if you cast Whir of Invention (a spell with improvise and mana cost {X}{U}{U}{U}) and choose X to be 3, the total cost is {3}{U}{U}{U}. If you tap two artifacts, you’ll have to pay {1}{U}{U}{U}.
Printings:
#49 (Christine Choi)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Rare)

Languages:
German Klang der Innovation
French Ronronnement de l'inventivité
Italian Ronzio dell'Invenzione
Spanish Zumbido de la invención
Portuguese Zumbido da Invenção
Japanese 発明品の唸り
Simplified Chinese 创发隆响
Russian Гул Изобретений
Traditional Chinese 創發隆響
Korean 발명의 소음


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Whir of Invention
View Decks with Whir of Invention
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.