Kari Zev, Skyship Raider Aether Revolt Lathnu Sailback

Kari Zev's Expertise Kari Zev's Expertise English

Sorcery, 1RR (3)

Gain control of target creature or Vehicle until end of turn. Untap it. It gains haste until end of turn.

You may cast a card with converted mana cost 2 or less from your hand without paying its mana cost.

"I was made for this!"

Illus. Jason Rainville

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: Kari Zev’s Expertise can target any creature or Vehicle, even one that you already control or that is already untapped.
  • 2/9/2017: If the Expertise spell you cast has any targets, and those targets become illegal before the spell resolves, the spell is countered and none of its effects happen. You won’t get to cast a free spell.
  • 2/9/2017: A card’s converted mana cost is determined solely by the mana symbols printed in its upper right corner. The converted mana cost is the total amount of mana in that cost, regardless of color. For example, a card with mana cost {1}{U}{U} has converted mana cost 3. Ignore any alternative costs, additional costs, cost increases, or cost reductions that could apply to it. A card with no mana cost has a converted mana cost of 0.
  • 2/9/2017: If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
  • 2/9/2017: Effects that allow you to “cast” a card don’t allow you to play a land card.
  • 2/9/2017: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs, such as emerge costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Cathartic Reunion, you must pay those to cast the card.
  • 2/9/2017: While you’re casting your free spell, the Expertise spell is still on the stack. It will be put into its owner’s graveyard after the free spell is cast. The free spell can’t target the Expertise card in your graveyard. It can target the Expertise spell on the stack, but the Expertise spell will become an illegal target before the free spell resolves.
  • 2/9/2017: Any triggered abilities that trigger while performing the Expertise spell’s first effect won’t be put onto the stack until after you’re done casting your free spell. They’re put onto the stack at the same time as any abilities that triggered while casting that spell regardless of the order in which those abilities triggered.
  • 4/18/2017: The converted mana cost of a split card is determined by the combined mana cost of its two halves. If an expertise spell allows you to cast a split card, you may cast either half or, if that split card has fuse, both halves.
Printings:
#88 (Jason Rainville)

Editions:
English Aether Revolt (Rare)

Languages:
German Kari Zevs Expertise
French Expertise de Kari Zev
Italian Competenza di Kari Zev
Spanish Pericia de Kari Zev
Portuguese Especialidade de Kari Zev
Japanese カーリ・ゼヴの巧技
Simplified Chinese 卡丽泽夫的专才
Russian Мастерство Кари Зев
Traditional Chinese 卡麗澤夫的專才
Korean 카리 제브의 전문 지식


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Kari Zev's Expertise
View Decks with Kari Zev's Expertise
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.