Soldevi Sage Alliances Storm Crow

Spiny Starfish Spiny Starfish English

Creature — Starfish 0/1, 2U (3)

{U}: Regenerate Spiny Starfish.

At the beginning of each end step, if Spiny Starfish regenerated this turn, put a 0/1 blue Starfish creature token onto the battlefield for each time it regenerated this turn.

Illus. Alan Rabinowitz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: The token is put onto the battlefield even if this card is not on the battlefield at the beginning of the end step.
  • 10/1/2009: Spiny Starfish's first ability creates a regeneration shield for it. Spiny Starfish's second ability checks whether it _used_ any regeneration shields that turn, not whether any regeneration shields were created for it.
  • 10/1/2009: The second ability doesn't care where the regeneration shields Spiny Starfish used that turn came from. If it regenerated due to a regeneration shield from Refresh, for example, the ability will still put a Starfish token onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2009: The second ability has an "intervening 'if' clause," so it won't trigger at all unless Spiny Starfish had regenerated that turn. However, the number of tokens that are created isn't determined until the ability resolves (in case it regenerates again before that time).
  • 10/1/2009: If Spiny Starfish regenerates during the end step after its second ability has resolved, no tokens will be created as a result.
Printings:
#53 (Alan Rabinowitz)

Editions:
English Alliances (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition III (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Stachliger Seestern
French Etoile de mer épineuse
Italian Stella Marina Spinata
Spanish Estrella de mar espinosa
Portuguese Estrela-do-Mar Espinhosa


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Spiny Starfish
View Decks with Spiny Starfish
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.