Amonkhet Anointed Procession

Angel of Sanctions Angel of Sanctions English

Creature — Angel 3/4, 3WW (5)

Flying

When Angel of Sanctions enters the battlefield, you may exile target nonland permanent an opponent controls until Angel of Sanctions leaves the battlefield.

Embalm {5}{W} ({5}{W}, Exile this card from your graveyard: Create a token that's a copy of it, except it's a white Zombie Angel with no mana cost. Embalm only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Min Yum

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: If Angel of Sanctions leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the target permanent won’t be exiled.
  • 4/18/2017: Auras attached to the exiled permanent will be put into their owners’ graveyards. Any Equipment will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled permanent will cease to exist.
  • 4/18/2017: If a token is exiled this way, it will cease to exist and won’t return to the battlefield.
  • 4/18/2017: The exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Angel of Sanctions leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions.
  • 4/18/2017: In a multiplayer game, if Angel of Sanctions’s owner leaves the game, the exiled card will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isn’t an ability that goes on the stack, it won’t cease to exist along with the leaving player’s spells and abilities on the stack.
  • 4/18/2017: For each card with embalm, a corresponding game play supplement token can be found in some Amonkhet booster packs. These supplements are not required to play with cards with embalm; you can use the same items to represent an embalmed token as you would any other token.
  • 4/18/2017: The token copies exactly what was printed on the original card and nothing else. It doesn’t copy any information about the object the card was before it was put into your graveyard.
  • 4/18/2017: The token is a Zombie in addition to its other types and is white instead of its other colors. It has no mana cost, and thus its converted mana cost is 0. These are copiable values of the token that other effects may copy.
  • 4/18/2017: If the card copied by the token had any “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield” abilities, then the token also has those abilities and will trigger them when it’s created. Similarly, any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities that the token has copied will also work.
Printings:
#1 (Min Yum)

Editions:
English Amonkhet (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Engel der Sühne
French Ange des condamnations —
Italian Angelo delle Sanzioni
Spanish Ángel de las condenas
Portuguese Anjo das Sanções
Japanese 賞罰の天使 —
Simplified Chinese 惩戒天使 —
Russian Ангел Ограничений
Traditional Chinese 懲戒天使 —
Korean 제재의 천사


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Angel of Sanctions
View Decks with Angel of Sanctions
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.