Hazoret's Favor Amonkhet Hyena Pack

Heart-Piercer Manticore Heart-Piercer Manticore English

Creature — Manticore 4/3, 2RR (4)

When Heart-Piercer Manticore enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice another creature. When you do, Heart-Piercer Manticore deals damage equal to that creature's power to target creature or player.

Embalm {5}{R} ({5}{R}, Exile this card from your graveyard: Create a token that's a copy of it, except it's a white Zombie Manticore with no mana cost. Embalm only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Scott Murphy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: The sacrificed creature’s last known existence on the battlefield is checked to determine its power.
  • 4/18/2017: You can’t sacrifice multiple creatures to deal damage multiple times.
  • 4/18/2017: Heart-Piercer Manticore features a new style of triggered ability. When it enters the battlefield, its triggered ability goes on the stack without a target. While that ability is resolving, you may sacrifice a creature. If you do, a second ability triggers and you pick a target creature or player that will be dealt damage. This is different from other abilities that say “If you do . . .” in that players may cast spells and activate abilities before a creature is sacrificed and then again after the creature is sacrificed but before damage is dealt.
  • 4/18/2017: Heart-Piercer Manticore’s damage-dealing ability triggers only when you sacrifice a creature as a result of the instruction of its triggered ability. It won’t trigger if you sacrifice a creature for any other reason.
  • 4/18/2017: For each card with embalm, a corresponding game play supplement token can be found in some Amonkhet booster packs. These supplements are not required to play with cards with embalm; you can use the same items to represent an embalmed token as you would any other token.
  • 4/18/2017: The token copies exactly what was printed on the original card and nothing else. It doesn’t copy any information about the object the card was before it was put into your graveyard.
  • 4/18/2017: The token is a Zombie in addition to its other types and is white instead of its other colors. It has no mana cost, and thus its converted mana cost is 0. These are copiable values of the token that other effects may copy.
  • 4/18/2017: If the card copied by the token had any “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield” abilities, then the token also has those abilities and will trigger them when it’s created. Similarly, any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities that the token has copied will also work.
Printings:
#138 (Scott Murphy)

Editions:
English Amonkhet (Rare)

Languages:
German Herzstecher-Mantikor
French Manticore perce-cœur —
Italian Manticora Trafiggicuore
Spanish Mantícora perforacorazones
Portuguese Mantícora Fura-coração
Japanese 心臓貫きのマンティコア —
Simplified Chinese 穿心蝎狮 —
Russian Пронзающая Сердце Мантикора
Traditional Chinese 穿心蠍獅 —
Korean 심장관통수 만티코어


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Heart-Piercer Manticore
View Decks with Heart-Piercer Manticore
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.