Forsake the Worldly Amonkhet Gideon's Intervention

Gideon of the Trials Gideon of the Trials English

Planeswalker — Gideon (Loyalty: 3), 1WW (3)

+1: Until your next turn, prevent all damage target permanent would deal.

0: Until end of turn, Gideon of the Trials becomes a 4/4 Human Soldier creature with indestructible that's still a planeswalker. Prevent all damage that would be dealt to him this turn.

0: You get an emblem with "As long as you control a Gideon planeswalker, you can't lose the game and your opponents can't win the game."

Illus. Izzy

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: Gideon’s first ability will continue to prevent damage dealt by the target permanent even if Gideon leaves the battlefield before your next turn.
  • 4/18/2017: Gideon’s second ability doesn’t count as a creature entering the battlefield. Gideon was already on the battlefield; he only changed his types.
  • 4/18/2017: If Gideon becomes a creature the same turn he enters the battlefield, you can’t attack with him or use any of his {tap} abilities (if he gains any).
  • 4/18/2017: Gideon’s second ability causes him to become a creature with the creature types Human and Soldier. He remains a planeswalker with the planeswalker type Gideon. (He also retains any other card types or subtypes he may have had.) Each subtype is correlated to the proper card type: planeswalker is only a type (not a creature type), and Human and Soldier are just creature types (not planeswalker types).
  • 4/18/2017: If damage that can’t be prevented is dealt to Gideon after his second ability has resolved, that damage will have all applicable results: specifically, the damage is marked on Gideon (since he’s a creature) and that damage causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from him (since he’s a planeswalker). Even though he has indestructible, if Gideon has no loyalty counters on him, he’s put into his owner’s graveyard.
  • 4/18/2017: If Gideon leaves the battlefield after giving you his emblem, you’ll keep the emblem. Its effect will apply again later if another Gideon comes under your control.
  • 4/18/2017: No game effect can cause you to lose the game or cause any opponent to win the game while Gideon’s emblem is in effect. It doesn’t matter whether you have 0 or less life, you’re forced to draw a card while your library is empty, you have ten or more poison counters, you’re at your Glorious End, your opponent casts a second Approach of the Second Sun, or so on. You keep playing.
  • 4/18/2017: Other circumstances can still cause you to lose the game. You will lose a game if you concede, if you’re penalized with a Game Loss or a Match Loss during a sanctioned tournament due to a DCI rules infraction, or if your Magic Online® game clock runs out of time.
  • 4/18/2017: If you have Gideon’s emblem in a Two-Headed Giant game and control a Gideon planeswalker, your team can’t lose the game and the opposing team can’t win the game. If your teammate controls a Gideon planeswalker but you do not, your emblem’s effect doesn’t apply.
Printings:
#14 (Izzy)

Editions:
English Amonkhet (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Gideon der Geprüfte
French Gideon des Épreuves —
Italian Gideon delle Ordalie
Spanish Gideon de las pruebas
Portuguese Gideon das Provas
Japanese 試練に臨むギデオン —
Simplified Chinese 祀炼基定 —
Russian Гидеон, Участник Испытаний
Traditional Chinese 祀煉基定 —
Korean 시험에 든 기디온


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Gideon of the Trials
View Decks with Gideon of the Trials
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.