Bitterblade Warrior Amonkhet Champion of Rhonas

Cartouche of Strength Cartouche of Strength English

Enchantment — Aura Cartouche, 2G (3)

Enchant creature you control

When Cartouche of Strength enters the battlefield, you may have enchanted creature fight target creature an opponent controls. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

Enchanted creature gets +1/+1 and has trample.

Illus. Kieran Yanner

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: If the triggered ability’s target is illegal when it tries to resolve, or if the enchanted creature has left the battlefield, no creature will deal or be dealt damage.
  • 4/18/2017: The enchanted creature has +1/+1 and trample while it’s fighting. However, trample doesn’t apply during a fight.
  • 4/18/2017: If Cartouche of Strength leaves the battlefield before its triggered ability resolves, the creature it last enchanted will fight the target creature if it’s still on the battlefield at that time. However, it won’t have +1/+1 from Cartouche of Strength anymore.
  • 4/18/2017: Cartouche is an enchantment subtype with no special meaning. Other cards may care about which enchantments are Cartouches.
  • 4/18/2017: If the target creature becomes an illegal target before a Cartouche spell resolves, the spell is countered. It doesn’t enter the battlefield.
  • 4/18/2017: Each Cartouche is an Aura with “Enchant creature you control.” If another player gains control of either the Cartouche or the enchanted creature (but not both), then the Cartouche will be enchanting an illegal permanent and be put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
Printings:
#158 (Kieran Yanner)

Editions:
English Amonkhet (Common)

Languages:
German Kartusche der Stärke
French Cartouche de force —
Italian Cartiglio della Forza
Spanish Cartucho de fuerza
Portuguese Cártula da Força
Japanese 活力のカルトーシュ —
Simplified Chinese 力量魔符 —
Russian Картуш Силы
Traditional Chinese 力量魔符 —
Korean 힘의 카르투슈


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Cartouche of Strength
View Decks with Cartouche of Strength
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.