Heaven (Heaven/Earth) Amonkhet Edifice of Authority

Bontu's Monument Bontu's Monument English

Legendary Artifact, 3 (3)

Black creature spells you cast cost {1} less to cast.

Whenever you cast a creature spell, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain 1 life.

"The worthy shall strive for greatness. Supremacy in life leads to supremacy in the afterlife."
—Monument inscription

Illus. Jonas De Ro

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: In a Two-Headed Giant game, the triggered ability of Bontu’s Monument causes the opposing team to lose 2 life and you gain 1 life.
  • 4/18/2017: Each Monument has one ability that reduces the cost of creature spells of a certain color, and a triggered ability that triggers whenever you cast any creature spell—not just a creature spell of that color.
  • 4/18/2017: A creature spell that’s multiple colors is each of those colors. For example, Ahn-Crop Champion is a white creature and a green creature, so it can benefit from either Oketra’s Monument or Rhonas’s Monument—or both at once.
  • 4/18/2017: To determine the total cost of a creature spell, start with the mana cost or alternative cost you’re paying, add any cost increases, then apply any cost reductions. The converted mana cost of the creature remains unchanged, no matter what the total cost to cast it was.
  • 4/18/2017: Each Monument’s triggered ability triggers as the creature spell is cast and resolves before that creature spell resolves. The ability will resolve even if that creature spell is countered.
Printings:
#225 (Jonas De Ro)

Editions:
English Amonkhet (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Bontus Monument
French Monument de Bontu
Italian Monumento a Bontu
Spanish Monumento a Bontu
Portuguese Monumento de Bontu
Japanese バントゥの碑
Simplified Chinese 芭图纪念碑
Russian Монумент Бонту
Traditional Chinese 芭圖紀念碑
Korean 본투 기념비


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Bontu's Monument
View Decks with Bontu's Monument
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.