Cryptic Serpent Amonkhet Decision Paralysis

Curator of Mysteries Curator of Mysteries English

Creature — Sphinx 4/4, 2UU (4)

Flying

Whenever you cycle or discard another card, scry 1.

Cycling {U} ({U}, Discard this card: Draw a card.)

To consult a sphinx is a test in patience. Perhaps that's the point.

Illus. Christine Choi

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: Some cards have an ability that triggers whenever you cycle any card. These triggered abilities resolve before you draw from the cycling ability.
  • 4/18/2017: An ability that triggers whenever you discard a card doesn’t give you permission to discard cards. You’ll need another effect that instructs or allows you to discard them.
  • 4/18/2017: An ability that triggers whenever you “cycle or discard” a card triggers only once if you cycle a card. The ability “Whenever you discard a card” is functionally identical to this ability; cycling is mentioned for clarity.
  • 4/18/2017: If a player discards a card during his or her cleanup step due to having too many cards in hand, any appropriate abilities that trigger on discarding that card trigger. If this happens, those triggered abilities are put onto the stack and players receive priority in that cleanup step to cast spells or activate abilities (normally, no players may take actions during a cleanup step). Another cleanup step is created following that one.
Printings:
#49 (Christine Choi)

Editions:
English Amonkhet (Rare)

Languages:
German Kurator der Mysterien
French Conservateur de mystères —
Italian Sovrintendente dei Misteri
Spanish Custodio de misterios
Portuguese Curador de Mistérios
Japanese 秘法の管理者 —
Simplified Chinese 护谜史芬斯 —
Russian Хранитель Загадок
Traditional Chinese 護謎史芬斯 —
Korean 수수께끼의 관장


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Curator of Mysteries
View Decks with Curator of Mysteries
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.