Trial of Knowledge Amonkhet Vizier of Tumbling Sands

Vizier of Many Faces Vizier of Many Faces English

Creature — Shapeshifter Cleric 0/0, 2UU (4)

You may have Vizier of Many Faces enter the battlefield as a copy of any creature on the battlefield, except if Vizier of Many Faces was embalmed, the token has no mana cost, it's white, and it's a Zombie in addition to its other types.

Embalm {3}{U}{U}

Illus. Ryan Yee

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: Vizier of Many Faces copies exactly what was printed on the original creature (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn’t copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.
  • 4/18/2017: The characteristics Vizier of Many Faces gains as part of its copy effect are copiable values that other effects may copy.
  • 4/18/2017: If the chosen creature has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
  • 4/18/2017: If the chosen creature is copying something else (for example, if the chosen creature is another Vizier of Many Faces), then Vizier of Many Faces enters the battlefield as whatever the chosen creature copied.
  • 4/18/2017: If the chosen creature is a token, Vizier of Many Faces copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that created the token. Vizier of Many Faces is not a token in this case unless it’s embalmed.
  • 4/18/2017: Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when Vizier of Many Faces enters the battlefield. Any “as [this creature] enters the battlefield” or “[this creature] enters the battlefield with” abilities of the chosen creature will also work.
  • 4/18/2017: If Vizier of Many Faces somehow enters the battlefield at the same time as another creature, Vizier of Many Faces can’t become a copy of that creature. You may only choose a creature that’s already on the battlefield.
  • 4/18/2017: For each card with embalm, a corresponding game play supplement token can be found in some Amonkhet booster packs. These supplements are not required to play with cards with embalm; you can use the same items to represent an embalmed token as you would any other token.
  • 4/18/2017: The token copies exactly what was printed on the original card and nothing else. It doesn’t copy any information about the object the card was before it was put into your graveyard.
  • 4/18/2017: The token is a Zombie in addition to its other types and is white instead of its other colors. It has no mana cost, and thus its converted mana cost is 0. These are copiable values of the token that other effects may copy.
  • 4/18/2017: If the card copied by the token had any “when [this permanent] enters the battlefield” abilities, then the token also has those abilities and will trigger them when it’s created. Similarly, any “as [this permanent] enters the battlefield” or “[this permanent] enters the battlefield with” abilities that the token has copied will also work.
Printings:
#74 (Ryan Yee)

Editions:
English Amonkhet (Rare)

Languages:
German Wesirin der vielen Gesichter
French Vizir aux nombreux visages
Italian Visir dei Molti Volti
Spanish Visir de muchos rostros
Portuguese Vizir das Muitas Faces
Japanese 多面相の侍臣
Simplified Chinese 多面维齐尔
Russian Визирь Многих Лиц
Traditional Chinese 多面維齊爾
Korean 다면 고관


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Vizier of Many Faces
View Decks with Vizier of Many Faces
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.