Limited Edition Alpha Bad Moon

Animate Dead Animate Dead English

Enchantment — Aura, 1B (2)

Enchant creature card in a graveyard

When Animate Dead enters the battlefield, if it's on the battlefield, it loses "enchant creature card in a graveyard" and gains "enchant creature put onto the battlefield with Animate Dead." Return enchanted creature card to the battlefield under your control and attach Animate Dead to it. When Animate Dead leaves the battlefield, that creature's controller sacrifices it.

Enchanted creature gets -1/-0.

Illus. Anson Maddocks

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/4/2004: When putting a card onto the battlefield that requires a definition for its value or some other choice, you do what is needed to define the value or make the choice.
  • 9/16/2007: This is a new wording. Animate Dead is now an Aura. You target a creature card in a graveyard when you cast it. It enters the battlefield attached to that card. Then it returns that card to the battlefield, and attaches itself to that card again (since the card is treated as a new object on the battlefield).
  • 9/16/2007: Once the creature is returned to the battlefield, Animate Dead can't be attached to anything other than it (unless Animate Dead somehow manages to put a different creature onto the battlefield). Attempting to move Animate Dead to another creature won't work.
  • 4/1/2008: If the creature card put onto the battlefield has Protection from Black (or anything that prevents this from legally being attached), this won't be able to attach to it. Then this will go to the graveyard as a State-Based Action, causing the creature to be sacrificed.
  • 4/1/2008: A "creature card" is any card with the type Creature, even if it has other types such as Artifact, Enchantment, or Land. Older cards of type Summon are also Creature cards.
Printings:
#1 (Anson Maddocks)

Editions:
English Vintage Masters (Uncommon)
English Premium Deck Series: Graveborn (Uncommon)
English Fifth Edition (Uncommon)
English Fourth Edition (Uncommon)
English Revised Edition (Uncommon)
English International Collectors' Edition (Uncommon)
English Collector's Edition (Uncommon)
English Unlimited Edition (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Beta (Uncommon)
English Limited Edition Alpha (Uncommon)
English MTGO Masters Edition (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Belebung der Toten
French Animation des morts
Italian Animare i Morti
Spanish Animar a los muertos
Portuguese Reviver Cadáver


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Animate Dead
View Decks with Animate Dead
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.