Sedraxis Specter Shards of Alara Sharuum the Hegemon

Sedris, the Traitor King Sedris, the Traitor King English

Legendary Creature — Zombie Warrior 5/5, 3UBR (6)

Each creature card in your graveyard has unearth {2}{B}. ({2}{B}: Return the card to the battlefield. The creature gains haste. Exile it at the beginning of the next end step or if it would leave the battlefield. Unearth only as a sorcery.)

He bids his minions rise from their graves to their knees.

Illus. Paul Bonner

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: If you activate a card’s unearth ability but that card is removed from your graveyard before the ability resolves, that unearth ability will resolve and do nothing.
  • 10/1/2008: Activating a creature card’s unearth ability isn’t the same as casting the creature card. The unearth ability is put on the stack, but the creature card is not. Spells and abilities that interact with activated abilities (such as Stifle) will interact with unearth, but spells and abilities that interact with spells (such as Remove Soul) will not.
  • 10/1/2008: At the beginning of the end step, a creature returned to the battlefield with unearth is exiled. This is a delayed triggered ability, and it can be countered by effects such as Stifle or Voidslime that counter triggered abilities. If the ability is countered, the creature will stay on the battlefield and the delayed trigger won’t trigger again. However, the replacement effect will still exile the creature when it eventually leaves the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: Unearth grants haste to the creature that’s returned to the battlefield. However, neither of the “exile” abilities is granted to that creature. If that creature loses all its abilities, it will still be exiled at the beginning of the end step, and if it would leave the battlefield, it is still exiled instead.
  • 10/1/2008: If a creature returned to the battlefield with unearth would leave the battlefield for any reason, it’s exiled instead — unless the spell or ability that’s causing the creature to leave the battlefield is actually trying to exile it! In that case, it succeeds at exiling it. If it later returns the creature card to the battlefield (as Oblivion Ring or Flickerwisp might, for example), the creature card will return to the battlefield as a new object with no relation to its previous existence. The unearth effect will no longer apply to it.
  • 10/1/2008: Despite the appearance of the reminder text, the unearth abilities that Sedris grants are activated abilities of each individual creature card in your graveyard. They’re not activated abilities of Sedris.
  • 10/1/2008: Sedris may cause a creature card in your graveyard to have multiple unearth abilities. (For example, a Fatestitcher in your graveyard would have unearth {U} and unearth {2}{B}.) You may activate either of those abilities.
Printings:
#193 (Paul Bonner)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Sedris, König der Verräter
French Sedris, le Roi traître
Italian Sedris, il Re Traditore
Spanish Sedris, el Rey Traidor
Portuguese Sedris, o Rei Traidor
Japanese 裏切り者の王、セドリス
Simplified Chinese 叛徒之王塞基司
Russian Седрис, Король-Предатель


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sedris, the Traitor King
View Decks with Sedris, the Traitor King
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.