Steelclad Serpent Shards of Alara Tortoise Formation

Tezzeret the Seeker Tezzeret the Seeker English

Planeswalker — Tezzeret (Loyalty: 4), 3UU (5)

+1: Untap up to two target artifacts.

-X: Search your library for an artifact card with converted mana cost X or less and put it onto the battlefield. Then shuffle your library.

-5: Artifacts you control become 5/5 artifact creatures until end of turn.

Illus. Anthony Francisco

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: The first ability can target zero, one, or two artifacts. You may activate it with no targets just to put a loyalty counter on Tezzeret.
  • 10/1/2008: For the second ability, you choose the value of X when you activate it. You don't look through your library until the ability resolves. (In other words, you can't look through your library, decide what artifact card you want, and then determine what X is.) You can't choose an X that's greater than the number of loyalty counters on Tezzeret.
  • 10/1/2008: The third ability affects all artifacts you control, including artifacts that are already creatures.
  • 10/1/2008: The third ability causes artifacts you control to become creatures in addition to their other card types.
  • 10/1/2009: A noncreature permanent that turns into a creature is subject to the "summoning sickness" rule: It can only attack, and its {T} abilities can only be activated, if its controller has continuously controlled that permanent since the beginning of his or her most recent turn.
  • 10/1/2009: The effect from the ability overwrites other effects that set power and/or toughness if and only if those effects existed before the ability resolved. It will not overwrite effects that modify power or toughness (whether from a static ability, counters, or a resolved spell or ability), nor will it overwrite effects that set power and toughness which come into existence after the ability resolves. Effects that switch the creature's power and toughness are always applied after any other power or toughness changing effects, including this one, regardless of the order in which they are created.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
Printings:
#60 (Anthony Francisco)

Editions:
English Duel Decks: Elspeth vs. Tezzeret (Mythic Rare)
English Shards of Alara (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Tezzeret der Sucher
French Tezzeret le Chercheur
Italian Tezzeret il Cercatore
Spanish Tezzeret El Buscador
Portuguese Tezzeret, o Perseguidor
Japanese 求道者テゼレット
Simplified Chinese 致知者泰兹瑞
Russian Теззерет Искатель


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Tezzeret the Seeker
View Decks with Tezzeret the Seeker
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.