Grixis Battlemage Shards of Alara Infest

Immortal Coil Immortal Coil English

Artifact, 2BB (4)

{T}, Exile two cards from your graveyard: Draw a card.

If damage would be dealt to you, prevent that damage. Exile a card from your graveyard for each 1 damage prevented this way.

When there are no cards in your graveyard, you lose the game.

Illus. Dan Scott

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: The only difference between a colored artifact and a colorless artifact is, obviously, its color. Unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact requires colored mana to cast. Also unlike most artifacts, a colored artifact has a color in all zones. It will interact with cards that care about color. Other than that, a colored artifact behaves just like any other artifact. It will interact as normal with any card that cares about artifacts, such as Shatter or Arcbound Ravager.
  • 10/1/2008: The first ability exiles two cards in your graveyard as a cost. You can't activate this ability unless you have at least two cards in your graveyard. Exiling those two cards can't be responded to.
  • 10/1/2008: The second ability prevents all damage that would be dealt to you, regardless of how many cards are in your graveyard. For example, if you have three cards in your graveyard and would be dealt 5 damage, Immortal Coil prevents all 5 damage and exiles all the cards in your graveyard.
  • 10/1/2008: The third ability checks whether your graveyard is empty only at the time it triggers. Putting a card into your graveyard after that doesn't help. You'll lose the game when the ability resolves.
  • 10/1/2008: If the third ability is countered, but your graveyard is still empty, the ability will immediately trigger again.
  • 10/1/2008: If the third ability is countered, but your graveyard is still empty, the ability will immediately trigger again.
  • 10/1/2008: Similarly, if the third ability resolves but you don't lose the game for some reason (because you control Platinum Angel, perhaps), it will immediately trigger again if your graveyard is still empty. Immortal Coil + Platinum Angel + an empty graveyard is an involuntary infinite loop. Unless a player disrupts it, the game will end in a draw.
  • 10/1/2008: Suppose you control Immortal Coil and a planeswalker, and a source controlled by an opponent would deal noncombat damage to you. Both Immortal Coil and the planeswalker have effects that could affect that damage. You choose one to apply.
    -- If you apply Immortal Coil's effect, the damage is prevented. The planeswalker replacement effect is no longer applicable.
    -- If you apply the planeswalker replacement effect, your opponent then chooses whether he or she wants to redirect the damage to your planeswalker. If your opponent does, then that many loyalty counters are removed from the planeswalker, and Immortal Coil's effect is no longer applicable. If your opponent doesn't, then Immortal Coil's effect applies and the damage is prevented.
Printings:
#79 (Dan Scott)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Ewige Spirale
French Étreinte de l'immortalité
Italian Serpentina Immortale
Spanish Espiral inmortal
Portuguese Espiral Imortal
Japanese 不死のコイル
Simplified Chinese 永生圈环
Russian Петля Бессмертия


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Immortal Coil
View Decks with Immortal Coil
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.