Bloodthorn Taunter Shards of Alara Crucible of Fire

Caldera Hellion Caldera Hellion English

Creature — Hellion 3/3, 3RR (5)

Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

When Caldera Hellion enters the battlefield, it deals 3 damage to each creature.

Illus. Raymond Swanland

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: You may choose not to sacrifice any creatures for the Devour ability.
  • 10/1/2008: If you cast this as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can’t be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour onto the battlefield.
  • 10/1/2008: You may sacrifice only creatures that are already on the battlefield. If a creature with devour and another creature are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can’t devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can’t devour itself.
  • 10/1/2008: If multiple creatures with devour are entering the battlefield under your control at the same time, you may use each one’s devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can’t sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.
  • 10/1/2008: Caldera Hellion will deal 3 damage to itself (as well as to each other creature) when its enters-the-battlefield ability resolves. This damage will be lethal if Caldera Hellion hasn’t devoured any creatures and its toughness hasn’t been increased by any other means.
Printings:
#95 (Raymond Swanland)

Editions:
English Shards of Alara (Rare)

Languages:
German Krater-Teufelsbraten
French Monstruosité des caldeiras
Italian Infernale della Caldera
Spanish Infernal de la caldera
Portuguese Avernal da Caldeira
Japanese カルデラの乱暴者
Simplified Chinese 火口湖地狱兽
Russian Кальдерный Геллион


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Caldera Hellion
View Decks with Caldera Hellion
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.