Ashnod's Transmogrant Antiquities Bronze Tablet

Battering Ram Battering Ram English

Artifact Creature — Construct 1/1, 2 (2)

At the beginning of combat on your turn, Battering Ram gains banding until end of combat. (Any creatures with banding, and up to one without, can attack in a band. Bands are blocked as a group. If any creatures with banding you control are being blocked by a creature, you divide that creature's combat damage, not its controller, among any of the creatures it's blocking.)

Whenever Battering Ram becomes blocked by a Wall, destroy that Wall at end of combat.

By the time Mishra was defeated, no mage was foolish enough to rely heavily on walls.

Illus. Jeff A. Menges

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2008: If a creature with banding attacks, it can team up with any number of other attacking creatures with banding (and up to one nonbanding creature) and attack as a unit called a "band." The band can be blocked by any creature that could block a single creature in the band. Blocking any creature in a band blocks the entire band. If a creature with banding is blocked, the attacking player chooses how the blockers' damage is assigned.
  • 10/1/2008: A maximum of one nonbanding creature can join an attacking band no matter how many creatures with banding are in it.
  • 10/1/2008: Creatures in the same band must all attack the same player or planeswalker.
  • 10/1/2009: If a creature in combat has banding, its controller assigns damage for creatures blocking or blocked by it. That player can ignore the damage assignment order when making this assignment.
Printings:
#6 (Jeff A. Menges)

Editions:
English Fifth Edition (Common)
English Introductory Two-Player Set (Special)
English Fourth Edition (Common)
English Antiquities (Common (C4))

Languages:
German Sturmramme
French Bélier
Italian Ariete da Assedio
Spanish Ariete
Portuguese Aríete


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Battering Ram
View Decks with Battering Ram
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.