Gisela, Blade of Goldnight Avacyn Restored Angel's Tomb

Sigarda, Host of Herons Sigarda, Host of Herons English

Legendary Creature — Angel 5/5, 2WWG (5)

Flying, hexproof

Spells and abilities your opponents control can't cause you to sacrifice permanents.

Great devotion yields great reward.

Illus. Chris Rahn

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: As a spell or ability an opponent controls resolves, if it would force you to sacrifice a permanent, you just don't. That part of the effect does nothing. If that spell or ability gives you the option to sacrifice a permanent (as Brain Gorger's ability does), you can't take that option.
  • 5/1/2012: If a spell or ability an opponent controls instructs you to perform an action unless you sacrifice a permanent (as Ogre Marauder does), you can't choose to sacrifice a permanent. You must perform the action. On the other hand, if a spell or ability an opponent controls instructs you to sacrifice a permanent unless you perform an action (as Killing Wave does), you can choose whether or not to perform the action. If you don't perform the action, nothing happens, since you can't sacrifice any permanents.
  • 5/1/2012: You may still sacrifice permanents to pay the costs of spells you cast and abilities you activate, or because a resolving spell or ability you control instructs or allows you to do so.
  • 5/1/2012: You may sacrifice a permanent to pay the activation cost of an ability, even if that ability comes from a permanent an opponent controls (such as Excavation).
  • 5/1/2012: You may sacrifice a permanent as a special action, even if the effect that allows you to do so comes from an opponent's permanent (such as Damping Engine or Volrath's Curse). No one controls special actions.
  • 5/1/2012: This ability affects only sacrifices. It won't stop a creature from being put into the graveyard due to lethal damage or having 0 toughness, and it won't stop a permanent from being put into the graveyard due to the "legend rule" or the "planeswalker uniqueness rule." None of these are sacrifices; they're the result of game rules.
Printings:
#210 (Chris Rahn)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Sigarda vom Reiherschwarm
French Sigarda de la Milice des hérons
Italian Sigarda, Schiera degli Aironi
Spanish Sigarda, Anfitriona de las Garzas
Portuguese Sigarda, Hoste das Garças
Japanese 鷺群れのシガルダ
Simplified Chinese 苍鹭天使席嘉妲
Russian Сигарда, Повелительница Цапель
Traditional Chinese 蒼鷺天使席嘉妲
Korean 왜가리의 주인 시가르다


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Sigarda, Host of Herons
View Decks with Sigarda, Host of Herons
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.