Stolen Goods Avacyn Restored Tandem Lookout

Tamiyo, the Moon Sage Tamiyo, the Moon Sage English

Planeswalker — Tamiyo (Loyalty: 4), 3UU (5)

+1: Tap target permanent. It doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.

−2: Draw a card for each tapped creature target player controls.

−8: You get an emblem with "You have no maximum hand size" and "Whenever a card is put into your graveyard from anywhere, you may return it to your hand."

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 5/1/2012: Tamiyo's first ability tracks the permanent, but not its controller. If the permanent changes controllers before its first controller's next untap step has come around, then it won't untap during its new controller's next untap step.
  • 5/1/2012: The number of tapped creatures the player controls is determined when Tamiyo's second ability resolves.
  • 5/1/2012: Tamiyo's third ability creates one emblem with two abilities.
  • 5/1/2012: If you activate Tamiyo's third ability when she has eight loyalty counters on her, she'll be put into your graveyard before the emblem is created. She won't return to your hand.
  • 5/1/2012: Cards that are put into your graveyard can be returned to your hand by the emblem's ability even if they were never in your hand.
  • 7/1/2013: The ability can target a tapped permanent. If the targeted permanent is already tapped when it resolves, that permanent just remains tapped and doesn't untap during its controller's next untap step.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are permanents. You can cast one at the time you could cast a sorcery. When your planeswalker spell resolves, it enters the battlefield under your control.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers are not creatures. Spells and abilities that affect creatures won’t affect them.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers have loyalty. A planeswalker enters the battlefield with a number of loyalty counters on it equal to the number printed in its lower right corner. Activating one of its abilities may cause it to gain or lose loyalty counters. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. If it has no loyalty counters on it, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard as a state-based action.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers each have a number of activated abilities called “loyalty abilities.” You can activate a loyalty ability of a planeswalker you control only at the time you could cast a sorcery and only if you haven’t activated one of that planeswalker’s loyalty abilities yet that turn.
  • 7/1/2013: The cost to activate a planeswalker’s loyalty ability is represented by a symbol with a number inside. Up-arrows contain positive numbers, such as “+1”; this means “Put one loyalty counter on this planeswalker.” Down-arrows contain negative numbers, such as “-7”; this means “Remove seven loyalty counters from this planeswalker.” A symbol with a “0” means “Put zero loyalty counters on this planeswalker.”
  • 7/1/2013: You can’t activate a planeswalker’s ability with a negative loyalty cost unless the planeswalker has at least that many loyalty counters on it.
  • 7/1/2013: Planeswalkers can’t attack (unless an effect turns the planeswalker into a creature). However, they can be attacked. Each of your attacking creatures can attack your opponent or a planeswalker that player controls. You say which as you declare attackers.
  • 7/1/2013: If your planeswalkers are being attacked, you can block the attackers as normal.
  • 7/1/2013: If a creature that’s attacking a planeswalker isn’t blocked, it’ll deal its combat damage to that planeswalker. Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a source you control would deal noncombat damage to an opponent, you may have that source deal that damage to a planeswalker that opponent controls instead. For example, although you can’t target a planeswalker with Shock, you can target your opponent with Shock, and then as Shock resolves, choose to have Shock deal its 2 damage to one of your opponent’s planeswalkers. (You can’t split up that damage between different players and/or planeswalkers.) If you have Shock deal its damage to a planeswalker, two loyalty counters are removed from it.
  • 7/1/2013: If a player controls two or more planeswalkers that share a planeswalker type, that player chooses one of them and the rest are put into their owners’ graveyards as a state-based action.
Printings:
#79 (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Avacyn Restored (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Tamiyo die Mondweise
French Tamiyo, le sage de la lune
Italian Tamiyo, Saggia della Luna
Spanish Tamiyo, la Sabia de la Luna
Portuguese Tamiyo, a Sábia da Lua
Japanese 月の賢者タミヨウ
Simplified Chinese 月智者多美代
Russian Тамиё, Знаток Луны
Traditional Chinese 月智者多美代
Korean 달의 현자 타미요


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Tamiyo, the Moon Sage
View Decks with Tamiyo, the Moon Sage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.