Aura of Silence Commander 2015 Cage of Hands

Banishing Light Banishing Light English

Enchantment, 2W (3)

When Banishing Light enters the battlefield, exile target nonland permanent an opponent controls until Banishing Light leaves the battlefield. (That permanent returns under its owner's control.)

Illus. Willian Murai

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: Banishing Light’s ability causes a zone change with a duration, a new style of ability that’s somewhat reminiscent of older cards like Oblivion Ring. However, unlike Oblivion Ring, cards like Banishing Light have a single ability that creates two one-shot effects: one that exiles the permanent when the ability resolves, and another that returns the exiled card to the battlefield immediately after Banishing Light leaves the battlefield.
  • 4/26/2014: If Banishing Light leaves the battlefield before its enters-the-battlefield ability resolves, the target nonland permanent won’t be exiled.
  • 4/26/2014: Auras attached to the exiled permanent will be put into their owners’ graveyards. Equipment attached to the exiled permanent will become unattached and remain on the battlefield. Any counters on the exiled permanent will cease to exist.
  • 4/26/2014: If a token is exiled, it ceases to exist. It won’t be returned to the battlefield.
  • 4/26/2014: The exiled card returns to the battlefield immediately after Banishing Light leaves the battlefield. Nothing happens between the two events, including state-based actions. Banishing Light and the returned card aren’t on the battlefield at the same time.
  • 4/26/2014: In a multiplayer game, if Banishing Light’s owner leaves the game, the exiled card will return to the battlefield. Because the one-shot effect that returns the card isn’t an ability that goes on the stack, it won’t cease to exist along with the leaving player’s spells and abilities on the stack.
Printings:
#61 (Willian Murai)

Editions:
English Commander 2015 (Uncommon)
English Journey into Nyx (Uncommon)
English Friday Night Magic (Special)

Languages:
German Bannendes Licht
French Lumière de bannissement
Italian Luce Esiliatrice
Spanish Luz de destierro
Portuguese Luz Banidora
Japanese 払拭の光
Simplified Chinese 驱逐明光
Russian Изгоняющий Свет
Traditional Chinese 驅逐明光
Korean 추방의 빛


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Banishing Light
View Decks with Banishing Light
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.