Maelstrom Archangel Conflux Malfegor

Magister Sphinx Magister Sphinx English

Artifact Creature — Sphinx 5/5, 4WUB (7)

Flying

When Magister Sphinx enters the battlefield, target player's life total becomes 10.

"These benighted worlds are thick with ignorance. I will educate them. They will listen, or they will die."

Illus. Steven Belledin

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/1/2009: This ability is not optional.
  • 2/1/2009: For a player's life total to become 10, what actually happens is that the player gains or loses the appropriate amount of life. For example, if the targeted player's life total is 4 when this ability resolves, it will cause that player to gain 6 life; alternately, if the targeted player's life total is 17 when this ability resolves, it will cause that player to lose 7 life. Other cards that interact with life gain or life loss will interact with this effect accordingly.
  • 6/15/2010: In a Two-Headed Giant game, this ability basically causes the team's life total to become 10, but only the targeted player is considered to have actually gained or lost life.
Printings:
#116 (Steven Belledin)

Editions:
English Archenemy (Rare)
English Conflux (Rare)

Languages:
German Magister-Sphinx
French Magister sphinx
Italian Sfinge Magister
Spanish Esfinge magíster
Portuguese Esfinge Catedrática
Japanese 厳然たるスフィンクス
Simplified Chinese 范师史芬斯
Russian Сфинкс-Магистр


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Magister Sphinx
View Decks with Magister Sphinx
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.