Spitebellows Commander Sulfurous Blast

Stranglehold Stranglehold English

Enchantment, 3R (4)

Your opponents can't search libraries.

If an opponent would begin an extra turn, that player skips that turn instead.

The correct answer to a barbarian's riddle is to choke on your cleverness and die.

Illus. John Stanko

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: If your opponent controls a Stranglehold and an effect says "You may search your library . . . If you do, shuffle your library," you can't choose to search, so you won't shuffle.
  • 9/22/2011: If your opponent controls a Stranglehold and an effect says "Search your library . . . Then shuffle your library," the search effect fails, but you will still have to shuffle.
  • 9/22/2011: Since opponents can't search libraries, they won't be able to find any cards in a library. The effect applies to all opponents and all libraries, including your library. If a spell or ability's effect has other parts that don't depend on searching for or finding cards, they will still work normally.
  • 9/22/2011: Effects that tell an opponent to reveal cards from a library or look at cards from the top of a library will still work. Only effects that use the word "search" will fail.
  • 9/22/2011: An "extra turn" means a turn created by a spell or ability. It doesn't refer to a turn taken in a sanctioned tournament after the time limit for the round has expired.
  • 9/22/2011: If an opponent's extra turn is created while Stranglehold is on the battlefield, but Stranglehold leaves the battlefield before that turn would begin, that opponent takes the extra turn as normal.
Printings:
#136 (John Stanko)

Editions:
English Commander (Rare)

Languages:
German Würgegriff
French Strangulation
Italian Strangolamento
Spanish Estrangulación
Japanese 締め付け


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Stranglehold
View Decks with Stranglehold
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.