Chalice of Death Dark Ascension Withengar Unbound

Elbrus, the Binding Blade Elbrus, the Binding Blade English

Legendary Artifact — Equipment, 7 (7)

Equipped creature gets +1/+0.

When equipped creature deals combat damage to a player, unattach Elbrus, the Binding Blade, then transform it.

Equip {1}

Those who grasp its hilt soon hear the demon's call.

Illus. Eric Deschamps

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 1/22/2011: The "legend rule" checks only for permanents with exactly the same name. Elbrus, the Binding Blade and Withengar Unbound can be on the battlefield at the same time without either going to its owner's graveyard.
  • 1/22/2011: Elbrus will transform even if you are unable to unattach it (most likely because the equipped creature died).
  • 1/22/2011: If the equipped creature deals combat damage to more than one player at the same time, perhaps because some of its combat damage was redirected, Elbrus's ability will trigger once for each player it deals combat damage to. This may cause it to become unattached, transform, then transform again. If it transforms back into Elbrus, it will remain unattached.
  • 1/22/2011: Withengar's triggered ability will trigger no matter how a player loses the game: due to a state-based action (as a result of having a life total of 0 or less, trying to draw a card from an empty library, or having ten poison counters), a spell or ability that says that player loses the game, a concession, or a game loss awarded by a judge.
  • 1/22/2011: In a multiplayer game using the limited range of influence option (such as a Grand Melee game), if a spell or ability says that you win the game, it instead causes all of your opponents within your range of influence to lose the game. This is another way by which Withengar's ability can trigger.
The other part is:
English Withengar Unbound

Printings:
#147a (Eric Deschamps)

Editions:
English Dark Ascension (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Elbrus, die bindende Klinge
French Elbrus, la Lame d'emprisonnement
Italian Elbrus, la Lama Vincolante
Spanish Elbrus, la espada vinculante
Portuguese Elbrus, a Lâmina da União
Japanese 束縛の刃、エルブラス
Simplified Chinese 镇魔刃埃布斯
Russian Элбрус, Связующий Клинок
Traditional Chinese 鎮魔刃埃布斯
Korean 구속의 검 엘브러스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Elbrus, the Binding Blade
View Decks with Elbrus, the Binding Blade
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.