Decimator of the Provinces Eldritch Moon Drownyard Behemoth

Distended Mindbender Distended Mindbender English

Creature — Eldrazi Insect 5/5, 8 (8)

Emerge {5}{B}{B} (You may cast this spell by sacrificing a creature and paying the emerge cost reduced by that creature's converted mana cost.)

When you cast Distended Mindbender, target opponent reveals his or her hand. You choose from it a nonland card with converted mana cost 3 or less and a card with converted mana cost 4 or greater. That player discards those cards.

Illus. Yohann Schepacz

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/13/2016: Distended Mindbender’s last ability triggers after you’ve taken all the actions necessary to cast the spell.
  • 7/13/2016: If a card in a player’s hand has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be 0.
  • 7/13/2016: You must choose two appropriate cards if able.
  • 7/13/2016: If there aren’t two appropriate cards to choose, choose whichever you can and that player discards that card.
  • 7/13/2016: A “when you cast” triggered ability resolves before the original spell resolves. It resolves even if the original spell is countered, and the original spell resolves even if the triggered ability is countered.
  • 7/13/2016: Each card with emerge is colorless and has an emerge cost that includes one or more colors of mana. These cards are still colorless if you pay the emerge cost.
  • 7/13/2016: A creature’s converted mana cost is determined solely by the mana symbols printed in its upper right corner (unless that creature is the back face of a double-faced card, is a melded permanent, or is copying something else; see below). If the mana cost includes {X}, X is considered to be 0. If it’s a single-faced card with no mana symbols in its upper right corner (because it’s an animated land, for example), its converted mana cost is 0. Ignore any alternative costs or additional costs (such as kicker) that were paid as the creature was cast.
  • 7/13/2016: Colored mana components of emerge costs can’t be reduced with emerge.
  • 7/13/2016: You may sacrifice a creature with a converted mana cost of 0, such as a token creature that’s not a copy of another permanent, to cast a spell for its emerge cost. You’ll just pay the full emerge cost with no reduction.
  • 7/13/2016: You may sacrifice a creature with converted mana cost greater than or equal to the emerge cost. If you do, you’ll pay only the colored mana component of the emerge cost.
  • 7/13/2016: If you sacrifice a creature with {X} in its mana cost, that X is considered to be 0.
  • 7/13/2016: The converted mana cost of the back face of a double-faced card is the converted mana cost of its front face. The converted mana cost of a melded permanent is the sum of the converted mana costs of its front faces. A creature that’s a copy of either has a converted mana cost of 0.
  • 7/13/2016: The converted mana cost of a creature spell with emerge isn’t affected by whether its emerge cost is paid. For example, if you cast Elder Deep-Fiend for its emerge cost and sacrifice a creature whose converted mana cost is 3, Elder Deep-Fiend’s converted mana cost remains 8.
  • 7/13/2016: The creature chosen to be sacrificed is still on the battlefield up through the time that you activate mana abilities. Its abilities may affect the spell’s cost, be activated to generate mana, and so on. However, if it has an ability that triggers when a spell is cast, it will have been sacrificed before that ability can trigger.
  • 7/13/2016: Once you begin to cast a spell with emerge, no player may take actions until you’re done. Notably, opponents can’t try to remove the creature you wish to sacrifice.
Printings:
#3 (Yohann Schepacz)

Editions:
English Eldritch Moon (Rare)

Languages:
German Aufgeblähter Gedankenverwirrer
French Plieur d'esprit turgide
Italian Logorasenno Rigonfio
Spanish Corrompementes desmesurado
Portuguese Dobramentes Distendido
Japanese 膨らんだ意識曲げ
Simplified Chinese 曲智臃体
Russian Раздувшийся Мозгосос
Traditional Chinese 曲智臃體
Korean 팽창한 정신왜곡자


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Distended Mindbender
View Decks with Distended Mindbender
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.