Peace of Mind Eldritch Moon Repel the Abominable

Providence Providence English

Sorcery, 5WW (7)

You may reveal this card from your opening hand. If you do, at the beginning of the first upkeep, your life total becomes 26.

Your life total becomes 26.

There is power in prayer, regardless of who is listening.

Illus. Zack Stella

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 7/13/2016: For a player’s life total to become 26, the player gains or loses the appropriate amount of life. For example, if your life total is 4 when Providence resolves, it will cause you to gain 22 life; alternatively, if your life total is 40 when it resolves, it will cause you to lose 14 life. Other cards that interact with life gain or life loss will interact with this effect accordingly.
  • 7/13/2016: Your “opening hand” is the hand of cards you decide to start the game with after taking any mulligans.
  • 7/13/2016: A player’s “opening hand” is the hand of cards the player has after all players have taken mulligans and “scryed” if applicable. If players have any cards in hand that allow actions to be taken with them from a player’s opening hand, the starting player takes all such actions first in any order, followed by each other player in turn order. Then the first turn begins.
  • 7/13/2016: Revealing multiples of Providence from your opening hand won’t cause your life total to become 32 or any number other than 26.
  • 7/13/2016: In a Two-Headed Giant game, Providence causes the team’s life total to become 26, but only you actually gain or lose life. (Each team’s starting life total in a Two-Headed Giant game is normally 30.)
Printings:
#37 (Zack Stella)

Editions:
English Eldritch Moon (Rare)

Languages:
German Göttliche Fürsorge
French Providence
Italian Provvidenza
Spanish Providencia
Portuguese Providência
Japanese 神の導き
Simplified Chinese 祝祷眷恩
Russian Провидение
Traditional Chinese 祝禱眷恩
Korean 섭리


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Providence
View Decks with Providence
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.