Balefire Liege Eventide Belligerent Hatchling

Battlegate Mimic Battlegate Mimic English

Creature — Shapeshifter 2/1, 1{R/W} (2)

Whenever you cast a spell that's both red and white, Battlegate Mimic has base power and toughness 4/2 until end of turn and gains first strike until end of turn.

Mimics don't need perfect disguises. They need only the perfect victims: the naive, the young, or the poor of sight.

Illus. Franz Vohwinkel

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: The ability triggers whenever you cast a spell that's both of its listed colors. It doesn't matter whether that spell also happens to be any other colors.
  • 8/1/2008: If you cast a spell that's the two appropriate colors for the second time in a turn, the ability triggers again. The Mimic will once again become the power and toughness stated in its ability, which could overwrite power- and toughness-setting effects that have been applied to it in the meantime.
  • 8/1/2008: Any other abilities the Mimic may have gained are not affected.
  • 10/1/2009: The effect from the ability overwrites other effects that set power and/or toughness if and only if those effects existed before the ability resolved. It will not overwrite effects that modify power or toughness (whether from a static ability, counters, or a resolved spell or ability), nor will it overwrite effects that set power and toughness which come into existence after the ability resolves. Effects that switch the creature's power and toughness are always applied after any other power or toughness changing effects, including this one, regardless of the order in which they are created.
Printings:
#133 (Franz Vohwinkel)

Editions:
English Planechase (Common)
English Eventide (Common)

Languages:
German Ausfalltor-Nachäffer
French Mimique de la porte de guerre
Italian Mimic del Cancello
Spanish Mímico del portal
Portuguese Mímico do Portão de Batalha
Japanese 戦門のミミック
Simplified Chinese 斗门拟态妖
Russian Подражатель Крепостных Ворот


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Battlegate Mimic
View Decks with Battlegate Mimic
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.