Slippery Bogle Eventide Spitting Image

Snakeform Snakeform English

Instant, 2{G/U} (3)

Until end of turn, target creature loses all abilities and becomes a green Snake with base power and toughness 1/1.

Draw a card.

Losing his possessions distressed him, but the lack of limbs was strangely liberating.

Illus. Jim Nelson

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: Snakeform doesn't counter abilities that have already triggered or been activated. In particular, there is no way to cast this to stop a creature's "At the beginning of your upkeep" or "When this creature enters the battlefield" abilities from triggering.
  • 8/1/2008: If the affected creature gains an ability after Snakeform resolves, it will keep that ability.
  • 8/1/2008: If Snakeform affects a creature with changeling, the creature will lose its changeling ability, and will no longer be all creature types.
  • 10/1/2009: The power/toughness-setting effect overwrites other effects that set power and toughness only if those effects existed before this spell resolved. It will not overwrite effects that modify power or toughness (whether from a static ability, counters, or a resolved spell or ability), nor will it overwrite effects that set power and toughness which come into existence after this spell resolves. Effects that switch the creature's power and toughness are always applied after any other power or toughness changing effects, including this one, regardless of the order in which they are created.
Printings:
#161 (Jim Nelson)

Editions:
English Eventide (Common)

Languages:
German Schlangengestalt
French Forme du serpent
Italian Forma Serpentina
Spanish Forma de víbora
Portuguese Ofidioforme
Japanese 蛇変化
Simplified Chinese 蛇化术
Russian Змеиный Облик


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Snakeform
View Decks with Snakeform
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.