Hatchet Bully Eventide Heartlash Cinder

Hateflayer Hateflayer English

Creature — Elemental 5/5, 5RR (7)

Wither (This deals damage to creatures in the form of -1/-1 counters.)

{2}{R}, {Q}: Hateflayer deals damage equal to its power to target creature or player. ({Q} is the untap symbol.)

It has no safe side.

Illus. Thomas M. Baxa

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 8/1/2008: If the permanent is already untapped, you can’t activate its {Q} ability. That’s because you can’t pay the “Untap this permanent” cost.
  • 8/1/2008: The “summoning sickness” rule applies to {Q}. If a creature with an {Q} ability hasn’t been under your control since your most recent turn began, you can’t activate that ability. Ignore this rule if the creature also has haste.
  • 8/1/2008: When you activate an {Q} ability, you untap the creature with that ability as a cost. The untap can’t be responded to. (The actual ability can be responded to, of course.)
  • 8/1/2008: Wither applies to any damage Hateflayer deals to a creature, which includes both its combat damage and damage from its activated ability.
Printings:
#55 (Thomas M. Baxa)

Editions:
English Eventide (Rare)

Languages:
German Hassschürer
French Fouettehaine
Italian Scorticatore Odioso
Spanish Azotaodio
Portuguese Chicote Ofídico
Japanese 憎悪剥ぎ
Simplified Chinese 笞仇灵
Russian Злободер


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Hateflayer
View Decks with Hateflayer
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.