Thorned Moloch Hour of Devastation Ambuscade

Wildfire Eternal Wildfire Eternal English

Creature — Zombie Jackal Cleric 1/4, 3R (4)

Afflict 4 (Whenever this creature becomes blocked, defending player loses 4 life.)

Whenever Wildfire Eternal attacks and isn't blocked, you may cast an instant or sorcery card from your hand without paying its mana cost.

Illus. Magali Villeneuve

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/27/2017: An ability that triggers when something “attacks and isn’t blocked” triggers in the declare blockers step after blockers are declared if (1) that creature is attacking and (2) no creatures are declared to block it. It will trigger even if that creature was put onto the battlefield attacking rather than having been declared as an attacker in the declare attackers step.
  • 6/27/2017: Wildfire Eternal’s second ability resolves before combat damage is dealt, and you must cast a spell at that time if you wish to cast one without paying its mana cost. You can cast a sorcery during the declare blockers step this way.
  • 6/27/2017: If you cast a card “without paying its mana cost,” you can’t pay any alternative costs. You can, however, pay additional costs. If the card has any mandatory additional costs, such as that of Tormenting Voice, those must be paid to cast the card.
  • 6/27/2017: If the card has {X} in its mana cost, you must choose 0 as the value of X when casting it without paying its mana cost.
  • 6/27/2017: If multiple creatures block a creature with afflict, afflict triggers only once.
  • 6/27/2017: Afflict causes the defending player to lose life; it’s not damage or combat damage.
  • 6/27/2017: If a creature is attacking a planeswalker, that planeswalker’s controller is the defending player.
  • 6/27/2017: Afflict resolves before combat damage is dealt. If this loss of life brings a player to 0 life or less, that player loses the game immediately. A blocking creature with lifelink won’t deal combat damage in time to save that player.
Printings:
#109 (Magali Villeneuve)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Rare)

Languages:
German Wildfeuer-Verewigter
French Éternel du feu dévastateur
Italian Eterno dell'Incendio Indomabile
Spanish Eterno incendiario
Portuguese Eterno Incendiário
Japanese 野火の永遠衆
Simplified Chinese 野火永生者
Russian Вековечный Пламени
Traditional Chinese 野火永生者
Korean 들불 영생자


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Wildfire Eternal
View Decks with Wildfire Eternal
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.