Refuse (Refuse/Cooperate) Hour of Devastation Driven (Driven/Despair)

Cooperate (Refuse/Cooperate) Cooperate (Refuse/Cooperate) English

Instant, 2U (3)

Aftermath (Cast this spell only from your graveyard. Then exile it.)

Copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

Illus. Yongjae Choi

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/27/2017: Cooperate can copy any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets.
  • 6/27/2017: The copy is created on the stack, so it’s not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won’t trigger.
  • 6/27/2017: If you copy a spell, you control the copy. It will resolve before the original spell does.
  • 6/27/2017: The copy will have the same targets as the spell it’s copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can’t choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 6/27/2017: If the spell that’s copied is modal (that is, it says “Choose one —” or the like), the copy will have the same mode. A different mode can’t be chosen.
  • 6/27/2017: If the spell that’s copied has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Torment of Hailfire does), the copy will have the same value of X.
  • 6/27/2017: If the spell has damage divided as it was cast (like Chandra’s Pyrohelix), the division can’t be changed (although the targets receiving that damage still can).
  • 6/27/2017: The controller of a copy can’t choose to pay any alternative or additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any alternative or additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy.
  • 6/27/2017: Once you’ve started to cast a spell with aftermath from your graveyard, the card is immediately moved to the stack. Opponents can’t try to stop the ability by exiling the card with an effect such as that of Crook of Condemnation.
The other part is:
English Refuse (Refuse/Cooperate)

Printings:
#156b (Yongjae Choi)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Rare)

Languages:
German Kooperieren (Verweigern/Kooperieren)
French Coopérer (Refuser/Coopérer)
Italian Collaborare (Rifiutare/Collaborare)
Spanish Cooperar (Negarse/Cooperar)
Portuguese Cooperar (Recusar/Cooperar)
Japanese 縦横 (機略/縦横)
Simplified Chinese 合作 (拒绝/合作)
Russian Сотрудничать (Отказаться/Сотрудничать)
Traditional Chinese 合作 (拒絕/合作)
Korean 협력 (거부/협력)


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Cooperate (Refuse/Cooperate)
View Decks with Cooperate (Refuse/Cooperate)
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.