Nimble Obstructionist Hour of Devastation Proven Combatant

Ominous Sphinx Ominous Sphinx English

Creature — Sphinx 4/4, 3UU (5)

Flying

Whenever you cycle or discard a card, target creature an opponent controls gets -2/-0 until end of turn.

The sphinxes began to speak only after the Second Sun aligned. They whispered dire warnings, though no one listened.

Illus. Lars Grant-West

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/18/2017: Some cards have an ability that triggers whenever you cycle any card. These triggered abilities resolve before you draw from the cycling ability.
  • 4/18/2017: An ability that triggers whenever you discard a card doesn’t give you permission to discard cards. You’ll need another effect that instructs or allows you to discard them.
  • 4/18/2017: An ability that triggers whenever you “cycle or discard” a card triggers only once if you cycle a card. The ability “Whenever you discard a card” is functionally identical to this ability; cycling is mentioned for clarity.
  • 4/18/2017: If a player discards a card during his or her cleanup step due to having too many cards in hand, any appropriate abilities that trigger on discarding that card trigger. If this happens, those triggered abilities are put onto the stack and players receive priority in that cleanup step to cast spells or activate abilities (normally, no players may take actions during a cleanup step). Another cleanup step is created following that one.
Printings:
#41 (Lars Grant-West)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Unheilvolle Sphinx
French Sphinx comminatoire
Italian Sfinge Minacciosa
Spanish Esfinge ominosa
Portuguese Esfinge Nefasta
Japanese 不吉なスフィンクス
Simplified Chinese 恶兆史芬斯
Russian Зловещий Сфинкс
Traditional Chinese 惡兆史芬斯
Korean 불길한 스핑크스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Ominous Sphinx
View Decks with Ominous Sphinx
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.