Supreme Will Hour of Devastation Tragic Lesson

Swarm Intelligence Swarm Intelligence English

Enchantment, 6U (7)

Whenever you cast an instant or sorcery spell, you may copy that spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

The Locust God's children were numberless, relentlessly eating away every trace of the city's protection.

Illus. Daniel Ljunggren

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/27/2017: Swarm Intelligence can copy any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets.
  • 6/27/2017: Swarm Intelligence can copy the spell even if it’s countered before Swarm Intelligence’s triggered ability resolves.
  • 6/27/2017: The copy is created on the stack, so it’s not “cast.” Abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell (such as Swarm Intelligence’s own ability) won’t trigger.
  • 6/27/2017: The copy will have the same targets as the spell it’s copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can’t choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 6/27/2017: If the spell that’s copied is modal (that is, it says “Choose one —” or the like), the copy will have the same mode. A different mode can’t be chosen.
  • 6/27/2017: If the spell that’s copied has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Torment of Hailfire does), the copy will have the same value of X.
  • 6/27/2017: If the spell has damage divided as it was cast (like Chandra’s Pyrohelix), the division can’t be changed (although the targets receiving that damage still can).
  • 6/27/2017: The controller of a copy can’t choose to pay any alternative or additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any alternative or additional costs that were paid for the original spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy.
Printings:
#50 (Daniel Ljunggren)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Rare)

Languages:
German Schwarmintelligenz
French Intelligence de l'essaim
Italian Intelligenza dello Sciame
Spanish Inteligencia de enjambre
Portuguese Inteligência do Enxame
Japanese 大群の諜報
Simplified Chinese 虫群智慧
Russian Разум Роя
Traditional Chinese 蟲群智慧
Korean 곤충떼의 지성


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Swarm Intelligence
View Decks with Swarm Intelligence
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.