Dauntless Aven Hour of Devastation Disposal Mummy

Desert's Hold Desert's Hold English

Enchantment — Aura, 2W (3)

Enchant creature

When Desert's Hold enters the battlefield, if you control a Desert or there is a Desert card in your graveyard, you gain 3 life.

Enchanted creature can't attack or block, and its activated abilities can't be activated.

Illus. Sara Winters

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/27/2017: Activated abilities contain a colon. They’re generally written “[Cost]: [Effect].” Some keyword abilities are activated abilities and will have colons in their reminder text. Triggered abilities (starting with “when,” “whenever,” or “at”) are unaffected by the last ability of Desert’s Hold.
  • 6/27/2017: If an ability checks whether you control a Desert or there is a Desert card in your graveyard, having more than one doesn’t matter. Controlling one is the same as controlling five. There is also no extra bonus for both controlling one and having one in your graveyard.
  • 6/27/2017: For abilities that trigger only if you control a Desert or there is a Desert card in your graveyard, one condition must be true as the ability triggers and one must be true as the ability resolves. They don’t have to be the same condition, though. For example, you could sacrifice your only Desert after the ability triggers but before it has resolved.
Printings:
#8 (Sara Winters)

Editions:
English Hour of Devastation (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Umarmung der Wüste
French Étau du désert
Italian Stretta del Deserto
Spanish Posesión desértica
Portuguese Garras do Deserto
Japanese 砂漠の拘留
Simplified Chinese 沙漠之攫
Russian Хватка Пустыни
Traditional Chinese 沙漠之攫
Korean 사막의 구속


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Desert's Hold
View Decks with Desert's Hold
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.