Nightbird's Clutches Innistrad Pitchburn Devils

Past in Flames Past in Flames English

Sorcery, 3R (4)

Each instant and sorcery card in your graveyard gains flashback until end of turn. The flashback cost is equal to its mana cost.

Flashback {4}{R} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Illus. Anthony Jones

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: Only instant and sorcery cards in your graveyard when Past in Flames resolves will gain flashback. Instant and sorcery cards that are put into your graveyard later in the turn, including the resolving Past in Flames, won't gain flashback.
  • 9/22/2011: If you cast an instant or sorcery with {X} in its mana cost this way, you still choose the value of X as part of casting the spell.
  • 9/22/2011: If an instant or sorcery card in your graveyard already has flashback, you may use either flashback ability to cast it from your graveyard.
  • 9/22/2011: You may pay any optional additional costs the spell has, such as kicker costs. You must pay any mandatory additional costs the spell has.
  • 7/1/2013: For split cards, you pay only the cost for the half of the card you are casting. This is true because the cost is not looked at until after the card is on the stack, at which time it only has one of the two costs.
Printings:
#155 (Anthony Jones)

Editions:
English Innistrad (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Vergangenheit in Flammen
French Passé enflammé
Italian Passato in Fiamme
Spanish El pasado en llamas
Portuguese Passado em Chamas
Japanese 炎の中の過去
Simplified Chinese 过往成焰
Russian Полыхающее Прошлое
Traditional Chinese 過往成焰


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Past in Flames
View Decks with Past in Flames
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.