Olivia Voldaren Innistrad Butcher's Cleaver

Blazing Torch Blazing Torch English

Artifact — Equipment, 1 (1)

Equipped creature can't be blocked by Vampires or Zombies.

Equipped creature has "{T}, Sacrifice Blazing Torch: Blazing Torch deals 2 damage to target creature or player."

Equip {1} ({1}: Attach to target creature you control. Equip only as a sorcery.)

Illus. Scott Chou

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 10/1/2009: If a Blazing Torch controlled by one player somehow winds up equipping a creature a different player controls, the damage ability can't be activated by either player. Only the creature's controller may activate the ability -- but since that player can't sacrifice Blazing Torch (a permanent he or she doesn't control), the ability's cost can't be paid.
  • 10/1/2009: The source of the damage is Blazing Torch, not the equipped creature. However, the equipped creature's ability is what targets the creature or player. If Blazing Torch is equipped to a red creature, for example, the ability couldn't target a creature with protection from red. It could target a creature with protection from artifacts, but all the damage would be prevented.
Printings:
#216 (Scott Chou)

Editions:
English Innistrad (Common)
English Zendikar (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Lodernde Fackel
French Torche brûlante
Italian Torcia Ardente
Spanish Antorcha llameante
Portuguese Tocha Flamejante
Japanese 猛火の松明
Simplified Chinese 明亮火把
Russian Пылающий Факел
Traditional Chinese 明亮火把


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Blazing Torch
View Decks with Blazing Torch
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.