Battleground Geist Innistrad Civilized Scholar

Cackling Counterpart Cackling Counterpart English

Instant, 1UU (3)

Put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of target creature you control.

Flashback {5}{U}{U} (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Illus. David Rapoza

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/22/2011: The token copies exactly what was printed on the original creature and nothing else (unless that creature is copying something else or is a token; see below). It doesn't copy whether that creature is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any non-copy effects that have changed its power, toughness, types, color, or so on.
  • 9/22/2011: If you copy a double-faced creature, the token will be a copy of the face that's up when the token is created. Because the token is not a double-faced card, it won't be able to transform.
  • 9/22/2011: If the copied creature has {X} in its mana cost, X is considered to be zero.
  • 9/22/2011: If the copied creature is copying something else (for example, if the copied creature is an Evil Twin), then the token enters the battlefield as whatever that creature copied.
  • 9/22/2011: If the copied creature is a token, the token that's created copies the original characteristics of that token as stated by the effect that put the token onto the battlefield.
  • 9/22/2011: Any enters-the-battlefield abilities of the copied creature will trigger when the token enters the battlefield. Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the chosen creature will also work.
Printings:
#46 (David Rapoza)

Editions:
English Commander 2014 Edition (Rare)
English Innistrad (Rare)

Languages:
German Kichernder Gegenpart
French Équivalent caquetant
Italian Controparte Ghignante
Spanish Homólogo carcajeante
Portuguese Dupla de Bufões
Japanese 大笑いの写し身
Simplified Chinese 咳笑复身
Russian Гогочущий Аналог
Traditional Chinese 咳笑複身


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Cackling Counterpart
View Decks with Cackling Counterpart
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.