Ajani, Mentor of Heroes Journey into Nyx Desperate Stand

Athreos, God of Passage Athreos, God of Passage English

Legendary Enchantment Creature — God 5/4, 1WB (3)

Indestructible

As long as your devotion to white and black is less than seven, Athreos isn't a creature.

Whenever another creature you own dies, return it to your hand unless target opponent pays 3 life.

Illus. Ryan Barger

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: You are a creature’s owner if the card representing it began the game in your deck, or if it’s a token that entered the battlefield under your control.
  • 4/26/2014: Athreos’s last ability will trigger if a token creature you own dies. The target opponent has the option to pay 3 life, although the token can’t return to your hand.
  • 4/26/2014: It doesn’t matter who controlled the creature when it died. Athreos’s last ability will trigger if you owned that creature.
  • 4/26/2014: The target opponent chooses whether to pay 3 life when Athreos’s last ability resolves. You won’t return the card to your hand if that player pays 3 life or if the card leaves the graveyard before the ability resolves.
  • 4/26/2014: If there are no legal targets for Athreos’s last ability (perhaps because each of your opponents has hexproof), it will be removed from the stack with no effect. No one may pay 3 life and you won’t return the creature card to your hand.
  • 4/26/2014: The type-changing ability that can make the God not be a creature functions only on the battlefield. It’s always a creature card in other zones, regardless of your devotion to its color.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God enters the battlefield, your devotion to its color (including the mana symbols in the mana cost of the God itself) will determine if a creature entered the battlefield or not, for abilities that trigger whenever a creature enters the battlefield.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God stops being a creature, it loses the type creature and all creature subtypes. It continues to be a legendary enchantment.
  • 4/26/2014: The abilities of Gods function as long as they’re on the battlefield, regardless of whether they’re creatures.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God is attacking or blocking and it stops being a creature, it will be removed from combat.
  • 4/26/2014: If a God is dealt damage, then stops being a creature, then becomes a creature again later in the same turn, the damage will still be marked on it. This is also true for any effects that were affecting the God when it was originally a creature. (Note that in most cases, the damage marked on the God won’t matter because it has indestructible.)
  • 4/26/2014: Your devotion to two colors is equal to the number of mana symbols that are the first color, the second color, or both colors among the mana costs of permanents you control. Specifically, a hybrid mana symbol counts only once toward your devotion to its two colors. For example, if the only nonland permanents you control are Pharika, God of Affliction and Golgari Guildmage (whose mana cost is {B/G}{B/G}), your devotion to black and green is four.
  • 4/26/2014: Numeric mana symbols ({0}, {1}, and so on) in mana costs of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 4/26/2014: Mana symbols in the text boxes of permanents you control don’t count toward your devotion to any color.
  • 4/26/2014: Hybrid mana symbols, monocolored hybrid mana symbols, and Phyrexian mana symbols do count toward your devotion to their color(s).
Printings:
#146 (Ryan Barger)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Mythic Rare)

Languages:
German Athreos, Gott der Überfahrt
French Athréos, dieu du Passage
Italian Atreo, Dio del Passaggio
Spanish Atreos, dios del paso
Portuguese Atreos, Deus da Passagem
Japanese 通行の神、エイスリオス
Simplified Chinese 渡亡神雅睿欧斯
Russian Атрей, Бог Перехода
Traditional Chinese 渡亡神雅睿歐斯
Korean 인도의 신 에스리오스


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Athreos, God of Passage
View Decks with Athreos, God of Passage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.