Cruel Feeding Journey into Nyx Doomwake Giant

Dictate of Erebos Dictate of Erebos English

Enchantment, 3BB (5)

Flash

Whenever a creature you control dies, each opponent sacrifices a creature.

"I take no pleasure in your suffering, but it is necessary. Once you accept your fate you'll find eternity more tolerable."

Illus. Michael C. Hayes

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 4/26/2014: When the triggered ability resolves, first the player whose turn it is (if that player is an opponent) chooses which creature he or she will sacrifice, then each other opponent in turn order does the same, then all chosen creatures are sacrificed at the same time.
  • 4/26/2014: None of the opponents are targeted. An opponent with hexproof would still sacrifice a creature.
  • 4/26/2014: If multiple creatures you control die at the same time, Dictate of Erebos’s triggered ability will trigger that many times.
  • 4/26/2014: If you control more than one Dictate of Erebos and a creature you control dies, each of the triggered abilities will trigger. Each opponent will sacrifice a creature each time one of those abilities resolves.
  • 4/26/2014: If you and an opponent each control a Dictate of Erebos and a creature dies, a chain reaction happens. First the ability of one player’s Dictate of Erebos will trigger, causing each opponent to sacrifice a creature. That sacrifice causes the ability of the other player’s Dictate of Erebos to trigger, and so on.
Printings:
#65 (Michael C. Hayes)

Editions:
English Journey into Nyx (Rare)

Languages:
German Gebot des Erebos
French Précepte d'Érébos
Italian Dettami di Erebos
Spanish Mandato de Erebos
Portuguese Decreto de Érebo
Japanese エレボスの指図
Simplified Chinese 厄睿柏斯的旨意
Russian Веление Эреба
Traditional Chinese 厄睿柏斯的旨意
Korean 에레보스의 규율


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Dictate of Erebos
View Decks with Dictate of Erebos
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.