Damnation Judge Gift Program Feldon of the Third Path

Dualcaster Mage Dualcaster Mage English

Creature — Human Wizard 2/2, 1RR (3)

Flash

When Dualcaster Mage enters the battlefield, copy target instant or sorcery spell. You may choose new targets for the copy.

"It has been my experience that disasters like to strike in pairs."

Illus. Matt Stewart

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 6/8/2016: Dualcaster Mage’s triggered ability can target (and copy) any instant or sorcery spell, not just one with targets. It doesn’t matter who controls it.
  • 6/8/2016: As Dualcaster Mage’s triggered ability resolves, it creates a copy of a spell on the stack. The copy isn’t cast, so abilities that trigger when a player casts a spell won’t trigger.
  • 6/8/2016: The copy will have the same targets as the spell it’s copying unless you choose new ones. You may change any number of the targets, including all of them or none of them. If, for one of the targets, you can’t choose a new legal target, then it remains unchanged (even if the current target is illegal).
  • 6/8/2016: You can’t choose to pay any additional costs for the copy. However, effects based on any additional or alternative costs paid for the targeted spell are copied as though those same costs were paid for the copy.
  • 6/8/2016: If the spell is modal (that is, it says “Choose one —” or the like), the copy will have the same mode. You can’t choose a different one.
  • 6/8/2016: If the spell has an X whose value was determined as it was cast (like Earthquake does), the copy has the same value of X.
  • 6/8/2016: If the copy says that it affects “you,” it affects the controller of the copy, not the controller of the original spell. Similarly, if the copy says that it affects an “opponent,” it affects an opponent of the copy’s controller, not an opponent of the original spell’s controller.
Comment:

6/8 Judge 2015

Printings:
#99 (Matt Stewart)

Editions:
English Archenemy: Nicol Bolas (Rare)
English Eternal Masters (Rare)
English Commander 2014 Edition (Rare)
English Judge Gift Program (Special)

Languages:
German Zauberverdopplerin
French Mage ambisort
Italian Maga Duplicatrice
Spanish Maga del lanzamiento doble
Japanese 二重詠唱の魔道士
Simplified Chinese 复咏法师


all prints in all languages


Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Dualcaster Mage
View Decks with Dualcaster Mage
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.