Syndicate Trafficker Kaladesh Tidy Conclusion

Thriving Rats Thriving Rats English

Creature — Rat 1/2, 1B (2)

When Thriving Rats enters the battlefield, you get {e}{e} (two energy counters).

Whenever Thriving Rats attacks, you may pay {e}{e}. If you do, put a +1/+1 counter on it.

In Ghirapur, even the lowliest residents live in lavish surroundings.

Illus. Tom Babbey

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 9/20/2016: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 9/20/2016: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
  • 9/20/2016: Some triggered abilities state that you “may pay” a certain amount of {e}. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {e} as the ability resolves, and no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice.
Printings:
#102 (Tom Babbey)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Common)

Languages:
German Gedeihende Ratten
French Rats prospères
Italian Ratti Vigorosi
Spanish Ratas impetuosas
Portuguese Ratos Vigorosos
Japanese 亢進するネズミ
Simplified Chinese 强旺鼠
Russian Здоровые Крысы
Traditional Chinese 強旺鼠
Korean 원기왕성한 쥐떼


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Thriving Rats
View Decks with Thriving Rats
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.