Consulate Surveillance Kaladesh Eddytrail Hawk

Consul's Shieldguard Consul's Shieldguard English

Creature — Dwarf Soldier 3/4, 3W (4)

When Consul's Shieldguard enters the battlefield, you get {e}{e} (two energy counters).

Whenever Consul's Shieldguard attacks, you may pay {e}. If you do, another target attacking creature gains indestructible until end of turn.

Illus. David Gaillet

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 9/20/2016: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 9/20/2016: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
  • 9/20/2016: Some triggered abilities state that you “may pay” a certain amount of {e}. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {e} as the ability resolves, and no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice.
  • 9/20/2016: If a triggered ability with one or more targets states that you “may pay” some amount of {e}, and each permanent that it targets has become an illegal target, the ability is countered. You can’t pay {e} even if you want to.
Printings:
#11 (David Gaillet)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Schildwache des Konsuls
French Gardebouclier du consul
Italian Guardiascudo del Console
Spanish Cortescudo del cónsul
Portuguese Guarda Escudo do Cônsul
Japanese 領事の盾護員
Simplified Chinese 执政官盾卫
Russian Щитоносец Консула
Traditional Chinese 執政官盾衛
Korean 영사의 방패경비대


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Consul's Shieldguard
View Decks with Consul's Shieldguard
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.