Giant Spectacle Kaladesh Hijack

Harnessed Lightning Harnessed Lightning English

Instant, 1R (2)

Choose target creature. You get {e}{e}{e} (three energy counters), then you may pay any amount of {e}. Harnessed Lightning deals that much damage to that creature.

Illus. Chris Rallis

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 9/20/2016: You choose the target creature as you cast Harnessed Lightning. You don’t choose how much {e} to pay until Harnessed Lightning is resolving. No player may take actions between the time you choose how much {e} to pay and the time the creature takes damage equal to the {e} paid this way.
  • 9/20/2016: If the target creature becomes an illegal target, Harnessed Lightning is countered and none of its effects happen. You won’t get {e}{e}{e} or be able to pay any {e}.
  • 9/20/2016: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 9/20/2016: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 9/20/2016: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 9/20/2016: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
Printings:
#117 (Chris Rallis)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Uncommon)

Languages:
German Gebändigter Blitz
French Éclairs maîtrisés
Italian Fulmine Imbrigliato
Spanish Doma del relámpago
Portuguese Raio Domesticado
Japanese 蓄霊稲妻
Simplified Chinese 受控闪电
Russian Укрощенная Молния
Traditional Chinese 受控閃電
Korean 통제된 번개


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Harnessed Lightning
View Decks with Harnessed Lightning
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.