Consul's Shieldguard Kaladesh Fairgrounds Warden

Eddytrail Hawk Eddytrail Hawk English

Creature — Bird 1/2, 1W (2)

Flying

When Eddytrail Hawk enters the battlefield, you get {e}{e} (two energy counters).

Whenever Eddytrail Hawk attacks, you may pay {e}. If you do, another target attacking creature gains flying until end of turn.

Illus. James Paick

Gatherer Card Rulings?, Legality?

  • 2/9/2017: {e} is the energy symbol. It represents one energy counter.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters are a kind of counter that a player may have. They’re not associated with specific permanents. (Other kinds of counters that players may have include poison and experience.)
  • 2/9/2017: Keep careful track of how many energy counters each player has. You may do so by keeping a running count on paper, by using a die, or by any other clear and mutually agreeable method.
  • 2/9/2017: If an effect says you get one or more {e}, you get that many energy counters. To pay one or more {e}, you lose that many energy counters. Any effects that interact with counters a player gets, has, or loses can interact with energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: Energy counters aren’t mana. They don’t go away as steps, phases, and turns end, and effects that add mana “of any type” to your mana pool can’t give you energy counters.
  • 2/9/2017: You can’t pay more energy counters than you have.
  • 2/9/2017: Some triggered abilities state that you “may pay” a certain amount of {e}. You can’t pay that amount multiple times to multiply the effect. You simply choose whether or not to pay that amount of {e} as the ability resolves, and no player may take actions to try to stop the ability’s effect after you make your choice.
  • 2/9/2017: If a triggered ability with one or more targets states that you “may pay” some amount of {e}, and each permanent that it targets has become an illegal target, the ability is countered. You can’t pay {e} even if you want to.
Printings:
#12 (James Paick)

Editions:
English Kaladesh (Common)

Languages:
German Wirbelspurfalke
French Faucon des courants
Italian Falco Traccianubi
Spanish Halcón labraestelas
Portuguese Falcão Turbilhonante
Japanese 渦跡の鷹
Simplified Chinese 漩迹鹰
Russian Ястреб Вихревого Следа
Traditional Chinese 漩跡鷹
Korean 소용돌이자취 매


all prints in all languages

Rules Questions / Links
View All Prices for Eddytrail Hawk
View Decks with Eddytrail Hawk
Crystal Keep Rulings Summaries
Cranial Insertion (MTG Salvation)

MOTL Price Lists
Non-Foil · Foil · MTGO

Print Proxies:
[ +1 ] [ +2 ] [ +3 ] [ +4 ] · View · Clear

HTML link to this card:

BBCode link to this card:


The information presented on this site about Magic: The Gathering, both literal and graphical, is copyrighted by Wizards of the Coast.
This website is not produced, endorsed, supported, or affiliated with Wizards of the Coast.